The Delta State Polytechnic Ogwashi-Uku is one of the three polytechnics in Delta State, Nigeria, Located in Ogwashi-Uku Delta State, Nigeria. The polytechnic offers National Diplomas and Higher National Diplomas in Art and Design (Fashion Design and Clothing Technology, and General Art), Business (Accountancy, Business Administration, Human Resource Management, Marketing, Mass Communication, Office Technology Management and Production Operations Management), Engineering (Agriculture and Bio-environmental Engineering, Civil Engineering, Computer Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Foundry Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Metallurgical Engineering and Welding and Fabrication) and Applied Sciences (Computer Science, Mathematics and Statistics and Hospitality and Tourism Management).

The Delta State Polytechnic was established by the Delta State Polytechnic Ogwashi-Uku Law, 2002. The Polytechnic officially opened on Thursday January 23 when the second executive governor of Delta State James Onanefe Ibori formally inaugurated the school. The establishment of a new polytechnic at Ogwashi-Uku was not without challenges. Before this time, there had been cries by the indigenes of the community for the reopening of Ogwashi-Uku polytechnic which had earlier been closed in 1986 by the then Military Administrator Lt. Colonel Jerry Useni, four years after its establishment. The closure was seen as manifestly unfair as the Edo State University (now AAU) which was established at the same time as Ogwashi-Uku Polytechnic was not affected. The work done by Michael Okonjo, who was then the Chairman, the House committee on Education and that of his brother, late Isaac Okonjo who was the Secretary to the Bendel State government in ensuring the establishment of the Ogwashi-Uku polytechnic had been undone by a military decree. Unhappy with this development, the people continued to fight for the reopening of the polytechnic. With the advent of democracy, the fight gathered momentum. On the forefront of the fight to reopen the Polytechnic were Chukwuka Benjamin Okonjo, the Obi of Ogwashi-Uku, Chief Oba Ilechie and other stake holders like Pascal Nwaorah, late Kisito Ilechie and many others.

In early 2002, the State Government in response to the yearning of the people decided to establish a new polytechnic. However to ensure equity, the Delta State Polytechnic Oghara and Delta State Polytechnic Ozoro were also established. The Delta State Polytechnic, Ogwashi-Uku begun academic activities in 2003 with a modest population of about 200 students, in three departments namely: Accountancy, Mechanical Engineering and Fashion & Clothing Technology under the first rector of the Polytechnic, now Prof. J.E. O. Ovri. The Polytechnic at this time operated out of the former Delta Preparatory Primary School premises along Isah Road, Ogwashi-Uku with the Motto: Creativity for Development until 2004 when it moved to the former party secretariat (now Campus B which currently houses department of Fashion & Clothing Technology) along Ogwashi- Uku/Azagba road. In early 2005, the Polytechnic Rectory was moved to the Polytechnic Guest House at Kwale Junction. With the donation of a large piece of land measuring 2 km by 1 km by the host community and subsequently designated as the main campus (permanent site), the polytechnic moved the department of mechanical engineering to the main campus. By 2007, relocation of the Rectory, the Registry and other major department to the main campus had been completed. Since the establishment of the school, three substantive Rectors have been appointed. They include:

  • Dr. J.E.O. Ovri: November 2002 – November 2006
  • Professor A.O. Egwunyenga: August 2007 – August 2011
  • Dr. (Mrs.) E.N. Mogekwu: March 2012 to date
  • Prof.(Mrs.) Stella Chiemeke:2017- to date

During any interregnum, deputy rectors functioned as Acting Rectors. Those who served in acting capacity include:

  • Mr. J.U. Akajagbor: Nov 2006 – August 2007
  • Mr. S.E. Oseafiana: Aug 2011 – March 2012
  • Mr Edafe John Atajeromavwo 2016

Substantive Rectors

Professor James Ovri-2003-2007

Professor Andy Egwunyenga (2007–2011)

Dr. Mrs. Edna NnekaMogekwu(2011–2016)

Professor Stella CHIEMEKE (2017 to 2021)

Professor Stella Chinye CHIEMEKE obtained her professional training at the University of Lagos, Nigeria, where she received a Bachelor of Science Degree in Computer Science in 1986 and a Master of Science Degree in Computer Science in 1992. She obtained her PhD in Computer Science from the Federal University of Technology, Akure in 2004.